Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mon 14:00 - 18:30h

Tue - Fri 10:30 - 18:30h

Sat 10:30 - 17:00h

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Manolo Valdés

*8 March 1942 in Valencia, Spain

Biography

The Spanish artist Manolo Valdés is known for his large bronzes and oil paintings. He was born in Valencia in 1942. At the age of 15, he attended the “Escuela de Bellas Artes de San Carlos” in Valencia to found the artist group “Equipo Crónica” together with Joan Toledo and Rafael Solbes in 1964. With the death of Solbes in 1981, the artists’ group dissolved and Valdés began to develop his own unmistakable style.

 

Valdés is one of the few great artists who shines in all disciplines, in drawing, painting, printmaking and sculpture. Not only does he masters these disciplines and is technically versed in them, he is also original in all of them: he manages to work with each technique according to its own specific characteristics and to realize his artistic idea in it.

 

Valdés art is inspired by his Spanish origin. Motifs and forms from paintings by Francisco Goya, Jusepe de Ribera, Francisco de Zurbarán and in particular Diego Velàzquez can be found again and again in his oeuvre. He takes up motifs from the history of art, isolates them from their original context and then reinterprets them in a new and unexpected way. Thus, the “Infanta Maria Teresa”, who Velàzquez painted several times, with her sweeping skirts and voluminous hairstyle, can be found in some of Valdés’ sculptures.

 

In the early 1980s, the artist found his way to printmaking, and in these years he began to experiment with etching. Towards the end of the 1980s, he further developed his etchings and gave them a stronger individuality through inserted collages. At second glance, his prints make the viewer think. In his work “Pamela”, for example, he combines a painting by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner with collages by Henri Matisse and Vincent van Gogh.

 

Since 1990 the artist lives and workes in New York and Valencia. His works can be found in private and public collections such as the Met Museum or the MoMA in New York.

Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mo 14:00 - 18:30 Uhr

Di - Fr 10:30 - 18:30 Uhr

Sa 10:30 - 18:00 Uhr

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Manolo Valdés

*8. März 1942 in Valencia, Spanien

Biographie

Der spanische Künstler Manolo Valdés ist bekannt für seine großen Bronzen und Ölgemälde. Er wurde 1942 in Valencia geboren. Mit 15 Jahren besucht er die „Escuela de Bellas Artes de San Carlos“ in Valencia, um 1964 die Künstlergruppe „Equipo Crónica“ zusammen mit Joan Toledo und Rafael Solbes zu gründen. Durch den Tod von Solbes im Jahr 1981 löst sich die Künstlergruppe auf und Valdés fängt an, seinen eigenen unverkennbaren Stil zu entwickeln.

 

Valdés gehört zu den wenigen großen Künstlern, die in allen Disziplinen, in der Zeichnung, der Malerei, der Druckgraphik und der Skulptur glänzen. Er beherrscht diese Disziplinen nicht nur und ist in ihnen technisch versiert, darüber hinaus ist er in allen originell: Er schafft es, jeder Technik entsprechend zu arbeiten und darin seine künstlerische Idee zu verwirklichen.

 

Valdés Kunst ist inspiriert durch seine spanische Herkunft. Motive und Formen aus Gemälden von Francisco Goya, Jusepe de Ribera, Francisco de Zurbarán und im besonderen Diego Velàzquez finden sich in seinem Oeuvre immer wieder. Er greift Motive aus der Geschichte der Kunst auf, isoliert diese aus ihrem ursprünglichen Kontext um sie dann in einer noch nicht da gewesenen und unerwarteten Form neu zu interpretieren. So findet sich die „Infantin Maria Teresa“, die Velàzquez mehrfach malt, mit ihren ausladenden Röcken und ihrer voluminösen Frisur in einigen Skulpturen von Valdés wieder.

 

Zur Druckgrafik findet der Künstler zu Beginn der 1980er Jahre, in diesen Jahren fängt er an mit Ätzradierungen zu experimentieren. Zum Ende der 80er hin entwickelt er seine Radierungen weiter und verleiht ihnen durch eingefügte Collagen eine stärkere Individualität. Seine Grafiken laden auf den zweiten Blick zum Rätseln ein, so verbindet er in seinem Werk „Pamela“ ein Gemälde von Ernst Ludwig Kirchner mit Collagen von Henri Matisse und Vincent van Gogh.

 

Seit 1990 lebt und arbeitet der Künstler in New York und in Valencia. Seine Werke sind in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen wie dem Met Museum oder dem MoMA in New York zu finden.