Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mon 14:00 - 18:30h

Tue - Fri 10:30 - 18:30h

Sat 10:30 - 17:00h

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Henri Matisse

*31 December 1869 in Le Cateau-Cambrésis, France

+3 November 1954 in Nice, France

Biography

The French painter, printmaker, sculptor and draughtsman, Henri Matisse was born in 1869 in Le Cateau-Cambrésis. He is one of the most important artists of classical modern art. After attending a humanistic high school, Matisse first devoted himself to studying law. After two years of study, he found a position as a paralegal in Saint-Quentin. The artist practised this profession for a year until an appendectomy tied him to his bed for a year. To escape boredom, Matisse devoted himself to painting during this period of convalescence. In 1891, once again in full health, he turned completely to art. He received his artistic training in Paris, first at the Académie Julian and the École des Arts décoratifs and then at the École des Beaux-Arts.

After financially difficult years, he finally achieved success in 1904. Ambroise Vollard, one of the most important art dealers in France, organised his first solo exhibition for him. One year later, he exhibited together with other artists at the Salon d’Automne in Paris, works that stood out for their colourfulness and expressiveness. Critics therefore refered to this group of artists as “Les Fauves” (The Wild Ones). A trip to Algeria in 1906 inspired the painter deeply. The impressions of the country and the souvenirs he brought back, such as ceramics and textiles, find their way into his art. In his works, in the portraits, still lifes or interior scenes, ornaments and patterns appear again and again. Matisse uses his finely composed, bright colours in a two-dimensional application of paint as a creative means. Matisse’s art thrives on his enthusiasm for spaces, light and especially colour, with which and with simplified painterly means he develops his expressive compositions.

 

Around 1900 Matisse found his way to printmaking. At the beginning he worked in the technique of etching, producing over 300 etchings by 1948. At the same time, in a period from 1906 to 1952, he created lithographs, which formed the main focus of his graphic work. Matisse himself often acted as publisher of his graphic works, which over the years included over 1000 lithographs, etchings, linocuts and woodcuts. Among them are many single sheets, graphical series and illustrations for books. His editions are usually quite small, rarely does one edition exceed 50 copies. This being the reason that the signed original prints by Matisse are rare and valuable on the international art market.

 

At an advanced age, the artist is severely restricted by an illness, so that he limits himself to the technique of collage, an easy to handle form of expression. Henri Matisse died in 1954, at the age of 85 in Nice.

Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mo 14:00 - 18:30 Uhr

Di - Fr 10:30 - 18:30 Uhr

Sa 10:30 - 18:00 Uhr

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Henri Matisse

*31. Dezember 1869 in Le Cateau-Cambrésis, Frankreich

+3. November 1954 in Nizza, Frankreich

Biographie

Der französische Maler, Grafiker, Bildhauer und Zeichner, Henri Matisse wurde 1869 in Le Cateau-Cambrésis geboren. Er zählt zu den bedeutendsten Künstlern der Klassischen Moderne. Nach dem Besuch eines humanistischen Gymnasiums widmet sich Matisse zunächst dem Studium der Rechtswissenschaften. Nach zwei Jahren Lehrzeit findet er eine Anstellung als Anwaltsgehilfe in Saint-Quentin. Diesen Beruf übt der Künstler für ein Jahr aus, bis ihn eine Operation am Blinddarm für ein Jahr an sein Bett fesselt. Um der Langeweile zu entkommen, beschäftigt sich Matisse in dieser Zeit der Genesung mit der Malerei. 1891, wieder in voller Gesundheit, wendet er sich komplett der Kunst zu. Seine künstlerische Ausbildung erhält er in Paris, erst an der Académie Julian und der École des Arts décoratifs und dann an der École des Beaux-Arts.

Nach finanziell schwierigen Jahren hat er 1904 endlich Erfolg, Ambroise Vollard, einer der wichtigsten Kunsthändler Frankreichs, organisiert für ihn seine erste Einzelausstellung. Ein Jahr später stellt er zusammen mit anderen Künstlern auf dem Salon d’Automne in Paris Werke aus, die durch ihre Farbigkeit und Ausdrucksstärke herausstechen. Von Kritikern werden sie deshalb als „Les Fauves“ (Die Wilden) bezeichnen. Eine Reise nach Algerien im Jahr 1906 inspiriert den Maler nachhaltig. Die Eindrücke des Landes und die mitgebrachten Souvenirs, wie Keramiken und Textilien halten Einzug in seine Kunst. In seinen Werken, in den Portraits, Stillleben oder Interieurszenen tauchen immer wieder Ornamente und Muster auf. Matisse setzt seine fein komponierte, leuchtende Farbigkeit in einem flächigen Farbauftrag als Gestaltungsmittel ein. Matisse‘ Kunst lebt von seiner Begeisterung für Räume, Licht und besonders der Farbe, mit ihr und mit vereinfachten malerischen Mitteln entwickelt er seine ausdrucksstarken Kompositionen.

 

Zur Druckgrafik findet Matisse um 1900. Zu Beginn arbeitet er in der Technik der Radierungen, bis 1948 fertigt er so über 300 Radierungen an. Parallel dazu, in einem Zeitraum von 1906 bis 1952 schafft er Lithographien, die den Schwerpunkt seines grafischen Werkes bilden. Matisse fungiert häufig selber als Verleger seiner grafischen Arbeiten, die mit den Jahren über 1000 Lithographien, Radierungen, Linol- und Holzschnitte umfassen. Darunter sind viele Einzelblätter, graphische Serien und Illustrationen für Bücher. Seine Auflagen sind meistens recht klein, selten umfasst eine Auflage über 50 Exemplare, aus diesem Grund sind die signierten original Grafiken von Matisse auf dem internationalen Kunstmarkt rar und wertvoll.

 

Im hohen Alter wird der Künstler durch eine Krankheit stark eingeschränkt, so dass er sich auf die Technik der Collage beschränkt, einer einfacher zu handhabender Form um sich auszudrücken. Henri Matisse stirbt 1954, im Alter von 85 Jahren in Nizza.