Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mon 14:00 - 18:30h

Tue - Fri 10:30 - 18:30h

Sat 10:30 - 17:00h

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Alex Katz

*24 July 1927 in Brooklyn (New York), U.S.

Biography

Alex Katz was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1927 as son of Russian emigrants. He studied at the Cooper Union in Manhattan and later received scholarships for two consecutive summer semesters at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Maine, where he learned plein air painting. This proved to be decisive for his development as a painter and remains a key element of his practice until today.

 

In the 1950s his main interest was portraiture and he began to paint his friends, especially his wife and muse Ada.  The monochrome backgrounds were a central feature of his very personal style, his highly stylized aesthetics between formalism and representation. These works made him a key figure in early Pop Art. In the following years, he frequently referred to the mass media and pictorial worlds of advertising, and painting was increasingly joined by Pop Art’s favorite medium – printmaking. A medium that the artist masters with virtuosity.

 

He took up a new theme in his work, fashion design, in the 1980s and later devoted himself primarily to large-format landscapes. Since 2010, Katz works with existing themes in new ways: “zoomed-in” portraits and sequences of several closely cropped pictures of the same motif. Even with the diversity of his oevre, he always remained true to his own unique style: the combination of coloured planes with precise motifs, the rather sculptural figures in contrast to the flatness of the backgrounds – an ambivalence that the artist deliberately applies.

Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mo 14:00 - 18:30 Uhr

Di - Fr 10:30 - 18:30 Uhr

Sa 10:30 - 18:00 Uhr

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Alex Katz

*24. Juli 1927 in Brooklyn (New York), USA

Biographie

Alex Katz wurde 1927 in Brooklyn, New York als Sohn russischer Emigranten geboren. Er studierte an der Cooper Union in Manhattan und erhielt später Stipendien für zwei aufeinanderfolgende Sommer Semester an der Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Maine. Hier erlernte er die plein air Malerei, was sich als entscheidend für seine Entwicklung als Maler erweist und bis heute Grundpfeiler seiner Praxis bleiben sollte.

 

In den 1950er Jahren gilt sein Interesse vornehmlich der Porträtmalerei und er beginnt seine Freunde zu malen, vor allem aber seine Frau und Muse Ada.  Die monochromen Hintergründe werden zum Merkmal seines ganz persönlichen Stil, seine hochstilisierte Ästhetik zwischen naturgetreuer Darstellung und Formalismus. Mit diesen Arbeiten wird Katz zu einer Schlüsselfigur der frühen Pop-Art. In den Jahren darauf bezieht er sich häufig auf die Massenmedien und Bildwelten der Werbung und es schließt sich der Malerei vermehrt das Lieblingsmedium der Pop-Art an – die Druckgraphik. Ein Medium, das der Künstler virtuos beherrscht.

 

In den 1980ern nimmt er ein neues Thema in sein Schaffen auf: das Modedesign. Später widmet er sich vorrangig großformatigen Landschaften. Seit 2010 bearbeitet Katz bekanne Themen auf neue Art und Weise:  „herangezoomte“ Bildauschschnitte in seinen Portrtäts und mehrere eng zugeschnittene, aufeinander folgende Bilder desselben Motivs. Bei der Vielfalt seines Oeuvres ist er seinem ganz eigenen Stil stets treu geblieben. Die Kombination aus Farbflächen und konkreten Motiven, die plastischen Protagonisten im Kontrast zur Flächigkeit der Hintergründe – eine Ambivalenz die der Zeitgenosse bewusst einzusetzen weiß.