Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mon 14:00 - 18:30h

Tue - Fri 10:30 - 18:30h

Sat 10:30 - 18:00h

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Robert Indiana

*13 September 1928 in New Castle (Indiana), U.S.

+19 May 2018 in Vinalhaven (Maine), U.S.

Biography

Robert Indiana was born in 1928 under the name of Robert Clark in New Castle in Indiana, USA. He later took on the name of his birthplace. His artistic talent was evident from an early age. He therefore moved to Indianapolis to attend Arsenal Tech, a high school with a very good art curriculum in 1942. After passing three years in the US Air Force, he studied at the Art Institute of Chicago, the Skowhegan School of Sculpture and Painting in Maine and at the Edinburgh College of Art in Scotland.

 

He later moved to New York, where he met Ellsworth Kelly and followed his recommendation to settle down at Coenties Slip, a former important port in southeastern Manhattan, and join a community of artists that would include Kelly, Agnes Martin, James Rosenquist, and Jack Youngerman. Like his fellow artists, he looted the area’s abandoned warehouses and created sculptural assemblages from the found materials. The discovery of 19th-century brass stencils made him mark them with colorful numbers and short, emotionally charged words, and became the basis of his new painterly vocabulary.

 

1966 marked a turning point in his career due to the great success of his “LOVE” images and Indiana quickly gained a reputation as one of the most creative artists of his generation. Inspiration for his works, which often consist of single words with only a few letters, are found in typographies of signs, billboards and commercial logos.

 

In addition to his work as a painter and sculptor, he has also produced a whole range of prints. He decided to use screen printing, as this medium does justice to simplified forms and bright colours of his works. It also allowed for multiple use of the screens for serial variations, a common practice in Indiana’s oeuvre.

 

The artist died in May 2018 in his home on Vinalhaven, Maine.

Galerie Raphael

Domstraße 6

60311 Frankfurt a.M.

Mo 14:00 - 18:30 Uhr

Di - Fr 10:30 - 18:30 Uhr

Sa 10:30 - 18:00 Uhr

Tel. +49 69 29 13 38

Fax +49 69 29 775 32

info@galerieraphael.com

Robert Indiana

*13. September 1928 in New Castle (Indiana), USA

+19. Mai 2018 in Vinalhaven (Maine), USA

Biographie

Robert Indiana wurde 1928 als Robert Clark in New Castle in Indiana, USA geboren. Er nahm später den Namen seines Geburtsores an. Sein künstlerisches Talent zeigte sich schon im Kindesalter deutlich und so zog er 1942 nach Indianapolis, um die Arsenal Tech, zu besuchen, eine High School mit besonders gutem Kunst Curriculum. Nach drei Jahren bei der US Air Force, studierte er dann am Art Institute of Chicago, an der Skowhegan School of Sculpture and Painting in Maine und am Edinburgh College of Art in Schottland.

 

Er zog nach New York, wo er Ellsworth Kelly kennenlernte und seiner Empfehlung folgte, sich am Coenties Slip, ehemals ein wichtiger Hafen im Südosten Manhattans, anzusiedeln und sich einer Gemeinschaft von Künstlern anzuschließen, zu der Kelly, Agnes Martin, James Rosenquist und Jack Youngerman gehören sollten. Er plünderte wie seine Künslterkollegen die verlassenen Lagerhäuser der Gegend und schuf aus den gefundenen Materialen skulpturale Assemblagen. Die Entdeckung von Messingschablonen aus dem 19. Jahrhundert führte dazu, dass er diese Skulpturen mit bunten Zahlen und kurzen, emotional aufgeladenen Wörtern versah. Die Verwendung von Zahlen und Buchstaben wurde zur Grundlage seines neuen malerischen Vokabulars.

 

Das Jahr 1966 stellte aufgrund des großen Erfolgs seiner „LOVE“ Arbeiten einen Wendepunkt in seiner Karriere dar und Indiana erlangte schnell den Ruf einer der kreativsten Künstler seiner Generation zu sein. Inspiration für seine Arbeiten, die oft nur aus einzelnen Worte mit wenigen Buchsstaben bestehen, sind Typographien von Schildern, Reklametafeln und gewerblichen Logos.
Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Maler und Bildhauer, hat er auch eine ganze Reihe von Druckgrafiken umgesetzt. Er entschied sich dabei für den Siebdruck, da dieses Medium seinen vereinfachten Formen und bunten Farben gerecht wird. Darüber hinaus erlaubt es die Wiederverwendung der Siebe für serielle Variatonen, eine gängige Praxis im Oeuvre Indianas.

 

Der Künstler verstarb im Mai 2018 in seinem Zuhause auf Vinalhaven in Maine.